The Making of USTP-Jasaan



August 3, 1972

  • The Administration of the former Hon. Mayor Juan Azcuna Po and the Sangguniang Bayan Members established the Jasaan Community College (JCC).

  • Courses offered were the one-year technical and the two- year general education courses. 

    Then later,

  • The two-year Midwifery program started its offering 

November 9, 1980

  • The JCC was turned over by the Administration of the late Hon. Mayor Jose Z. Salcedo  to the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial Polytechnic State College (DMMMPSC, under the presidency of Dr. Menardo S. Santos

  • It was renamed as Jasaan College of Science and Technology (JCST) a satellite campus of DMMMPSC

  • Courses offered were two-year technical courses 

  • Degree course in BSE were offered until students graduated


August 5, 1991

  • The DMMMPSC is renamed as Mindanao Polytechnic State College by virtue of RA 7102 under the presidency of Dr. Montano F. Salvador

  • The JCST was also renamed to MPSC-Jasaan

    Campus an extension campus of MPSC Cagayan de Oro City

  • Curricular offerings were the three-year technician Programs and later into four-year degree program specializing in Electrical &Automotive Technology, Education and Information Technology 

February 21, 2009

  • The MPSC was elevated its status from a College into a full pledge UNIVERSITY by virtue of RA 9519 under the presidency of Dr. Ricardo E. Rotoras

  • The MPSC Jasaan Campus is now MUST Jasaan Campus. Curricular offering are the following: 1) BS Information Technology, 2) BS in Electrical Technology and Management, and 3) BS in Auto-Mechanical Technology

August 16, 2016 

  • RA 10919 was signed in law an act establishing the University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines (USTSP) the Amalgamation of the Mindanao University of Science and Technology (MUST) and the Misamis Oriental State College of Agriculture and Technology (MOSCAT). The MUST Jasaan is now USTP Jasaan. At present, the curricular offerings are the following 

  • 1) BS in Information Technology (BSIT), 

  • 2) BS in Electrical Systems and Management (BSESM), and 

  • 3) BS in Manufacturing Engineering Technology (BSMET) and the new two programs: 

  • 4) BS in Technology Communication Management (BSTCM) and 

  • 5) BS in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering (BSNAME)